Becoming-translator

I just finished cleaning up my translation (draft version here) of Fourquet and Murard’s “La Ville-Ordinateur” and sent it to the authors for approval…it has already been reviewed and proofread by a native French speaker and doctoral student from Columbia so I am not expecting too many corrections, but I’m a little nervous in any case. But I can say that beyond producing a faithful rendering of the essay’s content, I really think I have captured the tone and pacing of the essay, even when compared to the English translations of Deleuze and Guattari’s work that it mimics stylistically. There is something really satisfying about that and I look forward to doing more of this kind of work as soon as possible. So here’s hoping that they find it satisfactory and that my confidence is boosted to the point that I can clean up my rough translation of Macherey’s article on Foucault and Deleuze that is hiding on my hard drive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

