All I seem to be able to do lately is reblog posts from other sites — especially this one. I find Bryant’s insights on the simultaneity of the material and the discursive to be especially helpful as I try to lay out my research methodology. This post in particular reminded me of a photo from the ILWU protests here in Washington where one of the workers makes explicit the connection between force and language.

Larval Subjects .

Over at Cyborgology, David has written a great post responding to my earlier post on McKenzie Wark.  I don’t disagree with anything he says about the pressing political issues of our day, however I do think he quite misunderstands what I mean when I say that we’ve witnessed the erasure of sites of politics.  Here I am talking quite specifically about the difficulty in identifying geographical locations where we can effectively engage the contemporary system of capitalism in which we find ourselves enmeshed.  I am talking about the practice of politics, not the question of where the political issues are (which he nicely underlines in his post).  When I use the word “site”, I am quite literally referring to geographical sites, localized in time and space, and where to engage so as to produce change.

To see what I’m trying to get at, compare contemporary capitalism with late 19th and…

View original post 1,278 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Michael- says:

    I think you nailed it: we must learn to think and track “the simultaneity of the material and the discursive” in the ecology of politics. The multi-methodological practice of tracking and coding such complexities is what I call political ontography”. M-

  2. Thanks, Michael. The word ‘ontography’ has only been on my radar for a few weeks now but I’ll be digging deeper soon, so any recommendations on your understanding or anyone else’s would be greatly appreciated. As for the simultaneity of the material and discursive, I’m currently following up on Bryant’s references to Latour in We Have Never Been Modern.

Leave a Reply

